Archive for July 21, 2012

Turn 170 – Ware Jabberwock   Leave a comment

 

Still no change…

 

 

No change here either. I wonder if azza will accept peace for gold now he can’t build HA.

 

 

Hmmm. A GM. Not a great GP unless you are going to use it on a trade mission, but who would they trust to use it on a trade mission to? I do not want to piss them off so I won’t do anything if they bring it over to me so long as they don’t use stack to defend it, because they would be rather threatening to me if they send it in a galley.

 

 

Looks like Nazul are going to settle on that hill. Not entire sure why they want to cram a city in there, they can always try to settle for islands. If scooty have managed to block them in…well, that’s Nakor’s bad play. He should have either come for me with a huge army (not likely) or gone for the islands earlier.

 

 

Everything will land on the D sign n on T171. The fort should be completed on T172. scooty have a galley in range that will shortly see my galleys. Then I wonder how pissed off they are going to be for offering me peace. It should be rather entertaining for the lurkers.

 

 

I gifted the work boat to Commodore. It would take over 40 turns for the workboat to reach the island, the only place I have any further use for it. If Commodore doesn’t need it he can always delete it.

 

 

Real time religion spread!

 

 

Looks like Ware Jabberwock is about to get slain.

 

 

Yup.

 

 

Everyone except Commodore feidling an army with less development than myself, and azza with a bunch of defeats in war have lower GNP than myself. And probably Mick, but until I meet them I can’t tell form the graphs, only from demographics.

 

 

Nazul has a rising power. I’m going to have to start scouting out further up his coast to see if he has anything hiding to invade me across the sea.

 

 

Yeah, wealth looks like a necessity, with the gpt dropping…

 

 

Still boring.

 

 

One option to slow growth is to work an engineer at size 16. Growth will drop to 1fpt, and then I will not have to spend worker turns on workshopping the tiles I want to watermill within the next dozen turns. That also speeds up the potential GA/GE from WTF? with the engineer giving five points per turn instead of the base three due to Parthenon and rounding.

 

 

A mistake here, I should have take nthe grass from from FDP to grow slightly quicker, and DP could have used the plains hill whilst building the settler. I want to get SC up to size 11 to work all three plains hill and both grass hills and the gold, for 22hpt. Then build wealth…

 

 

Ditto last turn. I’m not typing out that again.

 

 

Boring…but now that Nazul have another city on this body of water I need to be aware that I’m going ot have to focus more on a navy here.

 

 

As said at SC, mistake, should have swapped over to the plains hill.

 

 

What do do with Opportunism. First of all, I want to grow it to size 14, to work a further three workshops. With a forge I will have 1 unhealthiness to be at 15/15 for health, making 36hpt without caste or Guilds, or 41hpt with either. With both I’ll make 46hpt. With both I’d also swap two mines to windmills to make the extra 2 commerce per turn. With a grocer and quaduct I can grow Opportunism larger but for now size 14 is the aim.

Opportunism will =slow grow to that size though. This means that building workers isn’t great, but Opportunism is ideally placed to build two missionaries for Saffron and Greed. The problem with doing this is fitting in the missionary builds around PD and SMS, but with the target cities so close to Opportunism it’s a no brainer to build them here: saffron missionary will either succeed or fail the turn it can first move, the Greed missionary will take a turn to get there. Missionaries from any other city take at least 2 turns before they can be used.

After these missionaries, wealth is a viable build, but a forge would pay it’self back in in 20 turns compared to building wealth, so forge after the missionaries seems reasonable, then onto wealth until the economy is stabilised or I have to build units to deal with azza. The fourth option depends on getting stone: UoS for fail gold would be better than building wealth, and Opportunism could build it in 10 turns. I could then go on a spamming spree of temples and just tech off the per turn beakers. 30 cities with temples, well, it adds up to half of my current breakeven bpt.

 

 

I’m growing NS for two turns, then I can build the settler for two turns and one pop slave it, or finish it in four turns manually. The workers that farmed this tile are not going to be able to continue improving NS though, they have to run down to By-Tor to go help out the island. But after the settler, I should have enough worker turns to get NS those last few tile improvements.

 

 

Boring.

 

 

Keep on swimming. The FP is now half done and should complete around about the time I settle the second and third cities on the island.

 

 

Next turn slave the settler for three pop.

 

 

One pop slave, overflow into a monastery to get that lake tile back. With Sistine the temple and monastery will be rather strong.

 

 

Ah PRNGG. All of those tiles show how many workers turns I need to put into them to turn them into a cottage. I need exactly 24 food to grow and 18 hammers to complete the court house, both of which are going to be done with zero change, and then every grassland and river tile will be turned into a cottage, leaving PRNGG at 0fpt, with the new pop point working the hill. When I get Machinery, I shall windmill both grass hills and cottage both farmed plains. The plains forest will be chopped at some point in the following few turns to see the market complete eot T181. At this point I will likely not have Guilds so will probably build a forge prior to the grocer.

 

 

Grow in one…

 

 

Next turn, slave the galley. I will be revolting out of Vassalage and Theocracy in the next five turns so I want to get as many three move galleys as possible.

 

 

Boring.

 

 

The island has six seafood resources. I will probably have to get all of the work boats I need for them out of Axe. I would like to keep slavery for this but that isn’t feasible, so I will probably stack whip anger for a while to get out as many hammers as I can right now.

 

 

Boring. Need a worker to hook the wheat but they are busy doing other things right now.

 

 

Grow…

 

 

As I said last turn, the workers are busy at PRNGG, so I will likely lose a little food through inefficiencies at SA. instead of workign the hill though, I should probably have worked the farm and grown to size 3 sooner.

 

 

So…you guys should start placing bets on just how bad my gpt becomes without wealth builds.

 

 

No comment.

 

 

Taken after the fall of Ware Jabberwock, note that power dropped but not by much. Doesn’t look like a decisive fight.

Posted July 21, 2012 by Krill in RBPB5