Archive for July 4, 2012

Turn 151 – Oh no you didn’t!   Leave a comment

 

And that is why it doesn’t matter who you vote for. If Pingo try anything stupid I’m not averse to shoving them off the continent…under the right circumstances.

 

 

Keep on Swimming. I suppose I’ll uncover the rest of the tundra then go look for Cyneheard.

 

 

Still no change in the garrisons. Things are looking up.

 

 

Interesting. I thought all culture was supposed to collapse to not leave single tiles within your culture. Probably has something to do with the tile being a legal city site, and peaks aren’t that.

 

 

Now, this…this is interesting. I am not accepting a city in this location. I will delay any war against azza to wipe it out, and if Nazul are not taking me seriously I’ll bomb the jungle tile between then sugar and banana to make my point. Then I’ll take whatever I can, and fortify the border. Then I’ll turn on azza. I’ll have the GS from Crapital to use for a golden age if I feel like I need the extra production or beakers to get to Guilds.

I’ll note that against a C1 sword with 20% fortification on a hill, has 55% defensive bonus. Nothing will get odds on that until a mace, so I must sacrifice a unit to kill the sword. I will use both jags to stop him getting more units into the city, and use a 6XP HA, probably promoted to C1+shock for about 40% odds off not dying and then use a C2+shock HA to clean up. Axes I do not fear with spare chariots and and spears will not get past the jags. I don’t think anything will get past the jags to be honest, except WE, and even then he should lose a WE to kill a W2 jag on the jungle.

 

 

And this is me giving Nazul a hint. Hopefully Nazul move the warrior 1 and see the huge stack of HA and chariots and GA moving their way and think they don’t want to piss me off. I’ve moved down a bunch of workers to make it look like I’m about to settle the city for the banana and rice, but in fact I’m going to keep that settler in hand so I can use it to plug any gaps in the front against Nazul. The HA stack can attack the sword on the hill on T154. Including hte three workers at PD, I have 8 workers available for the war, though I doubt I would need all of them. I doubt will need all of the HA unless I really do stage an invasion.

And yes, there really are over 25 military units available for an invasion. I am not concerned about a single axe or a single sword on a hill. I am concerned about the strategic repercussions of Nazul settling that city though.

 

 

I don’t think this needs much comment. So long as Pingo don’t join in a dog pile I can easily handle azza and Nazul at the same time, once I get Feudalism.

 

 

This missionary can go down to the Nazul theatre, I need a source of culture in the bomb city to continue putting culture into the captured tiles. I will probably build another missionary next, I think it takes 3 turns with the use of the hill.

 

 

A court house is perhaps not the best choice of a building when the city is 3 tiles away, but I need the EP, and it does save 3 gold per turn. And it helps unlock the FP.

 

 

Overflow 17 base hammers, and from next turn make 24 base hpt. I think it is time to make new units…so WE are likely the next build until I can no longer one turn then. So…two of them.

 

 

Looks like SC is going to be on military then, what with the likely second war to deal with.

 

 

Going to need 2LB in the city: Nazul are closer to optics than I am but I don’t really fear blockades…just want to make sure I don’t lose it.

 

 

Ideal size is size 14 working three mines, a farm and two watermills, for 18hpt. With guilds and two workshops instead it can make 20hpt, and Guilds is looking like a good tech to me.

 

 

With the war against azza postponed, I need to change the unit builds. I need LB to hold the city, so once Feudalism has been researched, I shall build two of them, taking four turns due to overflow. But build another catapult before then, I should be able to use them effectively against azza if he invades.

 

 

I need to rush this court house out and work a bunch of workshops; NS is in a critical location between two potential fronts yet can be made safe from attack via an artist bomb and attack at Nazul. A barracks can wait, Theocracy and Vassalage will provide 2 promotion units. And because of the workshops, Guilds looks yet nicer, never mind knights. I would envisage this to be a major source of catapult production, making over 20hpt at size 9, though at larger sizes it can work the well developed cottages.

 

 

I definitely need to get the hill mined, I will likely have to delay the growth at PRNGG to do it, but war comes first, and PRNGG still has a decent food surplus with three farms and a banana, +8fpt. And slave the catapult…

 

 

Give up on the second farm, reposition the workers to road the jungle towards the bomb site, and get the stack here. But finish the court house…

 

 

Nice chunk of overflow isn’t it? Next turn build a worker to 13/60, turn after slave it to 75/60 and the overflow 17 hammers into the court house again, which should shorten the time until completion significantly. The two workers will help with retooling WTF? but first will likely be used to farm at SC until I get to Machinery.

 

 

With the likely war, I definitely need a strong garrison here to deal with azza when he makes a move. Longbows and then cats, HA can come from other cities. This city is one of the reason I’m considering a GA in the next 25 turns now, with a few workshops down and 10 turns of growth, well, that’s a lot of hammers over 8 turns. Into maces, knights and cats, well…it’ll be interesting, doing a two front war again.

 

 

Focus on growth while I can but I’m aware of the likely need to neglect PRNGGs needs, though instead of farming everything then cottaging I will likely just cottage and grow at 8fpt.

 

 

Another city in need of a few workshops if I’m going to war, though I can well see it being cottaged later on. 27hpt with Guilds and stagnant growth…reasonable.

 

 

That unit cost number is going to get much larger…and that unit supply, well, I suppose I’ll be more bothered if the numbers fall.

 

 

MFG should get equal to first in the next few turns. The rest is reasonable with tech turned off.

 

Update after Nazul played:

 

 

He planted the city. Here is an even bigger hint, Nazul. The city, or everything south of Middletown. Your choice.

Posted July 4, 2012 by Krill in RBPB5