Archive for July 3, 2012

Turn 150 – Temptation   Leave a comment

 

Pingo…you just love giving me reasons to invade you. Your shrine must be worth a bob or two by now as well. I voted abstain because my votes won’t have any effect on if they win or not, so why bother.

 

 

No change here, to either of the garrisons.

 

 

Sail little boat sail.

 

 

4 cats getting into postition..

 

 

90% is good enough for Feudalism in 3 turns, due eot T152, with two turns of breakeven or one turn saving gold one turn with the highest possible slider. I would consider building wealth to run 100% but…why? I’ll just push out this missionary then reassess.

 

 

One more turn…need to start thinking about what to build. A barracks? It won’t actually make much difference, as I can run Theocracy and Vassalage to get double promo defensive units, which are the only land units I want to build here. Galleys? Nah…Monastery? Maybe, 10% extra beakers with 30% break even slider isn’t an awful lot though, 1.5bpt. Lighthouse? Possibly.

 

 

This is the last turn of major food surplus, next turn I’ll reset to 3fpt to grow to size 14, then reset again to max hammers and grow slowly at 2fpt. Assuming 15 turns until Machinery, that’s 32 food produced (one more population as well).

 

 

SC has been size 6 for almost half the game…If CS is 10 turns away, I need to prepare to farm all of the flat land to enable growth and build a court house. At least farm the grasslands so it can grow to size 11 and work hill mines.

 

 

I changed this city to stop building wealth and continue growth on the catapult. I don’t need any more gold to finish Feudalism. After the catapult…*shrug*

 

 

I wouldn’t be in slavery long enough to slave this, so max growth…and try to get a worker or two to mine the desert hills and improve the flatland tiles. I’m probably going to watermill both grassland tiles in the medium term…

 

 

No comment.

 

 

Part of me wants to strengthen this garrison with a couple of spears. One of my fears is a fast mover attack from the tile 4E of the city.

 

 

Slaved the catapult. Will have the option of slaving the next one and it popping out with 5XP. I think I’ll take that.

 

 

One option is to slave the court house for 2 pop next turn…doubt it’s needed, but it is an option.

 

 

I slaved the worker. Next turn drop overflow into the court house instead, and grow to size 5. T152 build a worker, and T153 slave it before revolting to Serfdom. Then drop the extra hammers back into the court house, total overflow hammers probably worth over 40 hammers total.

 

 

If I do revolt to Theocracy and Vassalage, now more need for a barracks in this city, I’ll definitely build a few CG2 longbows to hold the city better.

 

 

More growth…

 

 

Slave this next turn, will likely get another slave in on T153 as well with Vassalage to get the 5XP. Then I suppose it is on to the court house.

 

 

Boring.

 

 

131K soldier points over second place now. And let’s be fair, until recently all of my cities except WTF? have been on peaceful builds. I’ve built the 4 wonders at Aesthetics and Lit (SoZ in the HE city, SP in a junk backline city that had nothing else to build, Parthenon in a front city to take cultural control of an area and the GL for a quick Academy to keep up in tech) and one NW in the HE. And the HE basically has produced something in the region of 10HA, 1 catapult, 1 jag, 3 archers and a chariot because of the 100% multiplier, which is close to 700 hammers…and it cost me 100 base hammers to build. I think I’ve leveraged that tech gamble pretty well.

Posted July 3, 2012 by Krill in RBPB5